Why I love the SCA

I feel like sharing. :)

I’m sure you’ve heard me mention NUMEROUS times about how I am in the SCA or I plan to post pictures from an SCA event (which I never do) OR that I have some new SCA garb photos over at my costume blog. Yet I never bothered really explaining what the heck the SCA is in the first place.  It’s because I’m absent-minded.  The SCA has become a huge part of my life after college. I’m a bit of a learning junkie and for me, the SCA is learning outside the classroom (and no nerve-wracking exams to take!)

The Royal Encampment at Great Western War

SCA stands for the Society of Creative Anachronisms.  In the words of the organization:

The SCA is an international organization dedicated to researching and re-creating the arts and skills of pre-17th-century Europe. Our “Known World” consists of 19 kingdoms, with over 30,000 members residing in countries around the world. Members, dressed in clothing of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, attend events which feature tournaments, royal courts, feasts, dancing, various classes & workshops, and more.

For me, the SCA a historical reenactment group that studies the culture pre-17th-century Europe (and in some cases, the Eastern cultures as well). We’re a bunch of history buffs all coming together to revel in our love of history.  It’s a world-wide organization and has kingdoms almost everywhere. I’m a part fo the Kingdom of Caid  and in the Barony of Calafia 

Our Baron and Baroness of Calafia: Oliver and Kate Dogberry

My friend, Karine encouraged me to join. She is over in Montreal and was heavily involved in her area at the time.  I was fresh out of graduate school and looking for a social outlet (Graduate school tends to suck that right out of you). Since she knew I was into costuming, she felt I was a great fit for SCA.  And it went all down hill from there.  Funny enough, costuming wasn’t the only thing I focused on. I tried my hand a rapier fighting, illumination, needleworking, and belly dancing.  Most of those hobbies ended up sticking to me, hard.

 

 

Potrero War 2007. A day that will live in INFAMY!

 What I love most about the SCA are the people I have met. My husband Max was the first person I met when joining in on the fun. He even asked me to marry him at an SCA event three years after. If THAT doesn’t create fond memories I don’t know what can! I’ve met some amazing friends along the way who I consider a second family. Also, the amount of knowledge I have gained from just speaking to others! So many things to learn and so many people who have a beautiful passion for their craft and an undying need to teach others.

Crown Prints Tournament Arts Auction

One of my favorite parts of the SCA is picking a persona. In the SCA you have the opportunity to picks a time, a place, and period name for yourself .  I ended up going with an Italian persona, Florence to be specific. I used my Grandfather’s last name, Ricci and my great grandmother’s first name Giovanna. I managed to trace it all the way back to the 1500’s in Florence, Italy.  It was exciting to find how far my family name went back. I do have the option of dressing strictly my time period and area but I’m such a costuming nut I tend to dress all over the place.

My Husband (in green) fighting for my name at the Leodamus of Thebes Tournament.

 I suppose I’m just a romantic at heart. I love the pageantry and the history of the SCA. Like the Princess Bride, its “The Good Parts Version” of history.  Going to an event and immersing myself in the culture of the SCA is my way of unwinding. I turn off my cellphone and simply enjoy a full day (or weekend) of talking to friends and sharing our love of history.  The people are intelligent, passionate, and fun-loving. And one thing they love to do, is share their love of the current middle ages with all.  It may not be for everyone, but it definitely is for me.

…..

Plus you occasionally get to see something like this:

And this is awesome, indeed.

This entry was posted in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.