My First Dr. Sketchy’s Session!

I have heard of Dr. Sketchy from other artist friends on the east coast and from L.A. but I had no idea there was a San Diego branch!

Score! 

 I accidentally stumbled upon their website while doing a random google search and practically fell out of my chair with glee! I dragged my friends, Jen, Ace, and Dan with me to share in the fun.

Dr. Sketchy is a really awesome life drawing session (Every 3rd Saturday of the month here in San Diego). You get together with other artsy types, have some drinks, and sketch some really fabulous models. This round we had a beautiful ballerina pose for us in various costumes.  Its been YEARS since I actually did life drawing so it took me a while (and a few cocktails, I might add) to find my groove again.  I’m really looking forward to returning to another session. If you’re a San Diego sketch bug like me, I highly recommend checking it out. Each session is $10.

Here are a few of my favorites from the session:

1 minute poses.

2 minute poses.

10 minute pose.

Next time I’ll have to haul out the charcoal and news print.;)

 

And of course since it’s still April Drawing month, here’s a few other bits and pieces.

The prompt was “stick figures”. I figured I’d try to draw some basic belly dance poses.

 

The prompt was “dance” so I fleshed out one of the above poses and tried to add a little movement and character to it.

I got bored and drew Elvira after watching Elvira, Mistress of the Dark. Funny movie!

The prompt was ‘Finish what you started” so I inked the sketch of Annabelle and Luke I did a few months back. I may slap some color on this one.

As usual, more sketches to come.

I really need to sit my butt down and color some stuff in, dangit!

This entry was posted in Artwork, Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.